The 2016 Racing Season has come to an end at I-35 Speedway. Congratulations to all the champions, Carson Masoner in the Pure Stock, Matt Dorssom in the E Mods, Houston Johnson in the Chargers, Steve Starmer in the B Mods, Jason Estes in the Stock Cars, Steven Bunton in the Sport Compacts, and Dennis Elliott in the A Mods. Thank you everyone who came and competed at I-35 Speedway!

Speaking of competition, there were:
– 93 drivers competed in the USRA A Mods, with 11 different winners
– 82 drivers competed in the USRA B Mods, with 12 different winners
– 51 drivers competed in the USRA Stock Cars, with 6 different winners
– 59 drivers competed in the E Mods, with 9 different winners
– 21 drivers competed in the Chargers, with 7 different winners
– 43 drivers competed in the Pure Stocks, with 7 different winners
– 21 drivers competed in the late season addition the Sport Compacts, with 3 different winners

There was great racing all year long in all the classes. Side by side battles, last lap passes for the win, even the last race of the 2016 racing season, the A Mod feature, was an exciting race. Early leader Dennis Elliott was showing the way with Chad Lyle, Darron Fuqua, and Aaron Marrant in close quarters behind. Chad Lyle announced this was his last race in an A Mod prior to the night’s events. This four way battle led to a Delaware restart where Lyle grabbed the high side and Elliott the low to middle lanes for a five lap side by side battle. Lyle had to get in his rhythm on the high side and each lap chip away on Elliott until on the 18th lap he made the pass to cruise to the win!

We want to thank all the fans who came out every week to support their favorite drivers, the race track, and who participated in the various intermission activities. We had fun all year and look forward to doing it again next season.

This is also a great time to thank the staff of I-35 Speedway, the officials, the concession staff, the behind the scenes workers, the track prep and maintenance staff, the office staff, the management team, the public relations staff, the announcing crew, who all work each week to make I-35 Speedway the most fun race track in the area!

One last event remains for 2016, that would be the season ending banquet on November 12. The I-35 Speedway banquet will be held at the A.V. Spillman Event Center, 308 S. Broadway, Jamesport, Mo 64648. Tickets for the Banquet can be purchased for $25 from Diana Green 816-668-1714 or Kyle Johnson 816-365-7593. Social Hour begins at 4:30 pm, Dinner from 5:30 to around 7:00 pm, with the Awards Presentation starting at 7:30 pm. After the awards, will be DJ music and dancing the night away. There will be Door Prizes, Silent Auction, Cash Bar and fun for all! Make your plans now to attend!

The Top 10 in the Modified classes, the Top 8 in the Stock Cars, the Top 5 in the Chargers and Pure Stocks, and the Top 3 in the Sport Compacts will be honored. Additionally, the Sportsman of the Year, the Unsung Hero Award, Rookies of the Year, Gene Tuttle Award recipient will be announced, along with inductions into the I-35 Speedway Hall of Fame.

Found out this past weekend there was a competition to get social media quote of the week, congrats Randy Smith yours was used twice this year. Not to let anyone down we will end with some quotes from this past weekend.

From Scott Williams: One of the coolest things that I never see at any other track. All the track personnel (track packers, photographers, corner officials, everybody!) stopped what they were doing and stood hand over heart for the national anthem. A lot of places we’ve been to everybody keeps working but it was awesome to see this!

From Danielle Harrington: My first dirt track race in 30 years. New to the Midwest and pleasantly surprised that there were so many raceway venues here. California cannot compare. Loved the races and will return next year.